The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Really Right Stuff Camera Plate

Jungle Jim

Hi everyone! I have been a long time lurker here at GetDPI and I recently purchased my first digital camera, the X100. I have been shooting film since the early 1970's, mainly Nikon and an old Leica M3.

I had found out that RRS needed an X100 to design a plate for, and since I live 20 minutes away from their factory, I loaned them mine. It was a pleasure watching the design process and they gave me permission to post pictures of the prototype.

I have the prototype in my hands now and full production on the camera plate and L-bracket is now proceeding. The owner of Really Right Stuff (Joe Johnson) wanted to ask the forum members the following:

"Do you want a strap boss built into the separately sold handgrip piece ? It would allow for the attachment of a wrist strap that would thread from the bottom of the grip to the top of the camera strap holder. It would add about $15 to $20 to the cost of the handgrip price due to the complexity of manufacture."

The prototype that I am using has this function and it looks very nice as part of the hand piece. Depending on the feedback, all handgrips will either be sold with the option or without. RRS will not be making 2 different kinds.

Personal Comments:

001 by dungeonhack, on Flickr

002 by dungeonhack, on Flickr

007 by dungeonhack, on Flickr

008 by dungeonhack, on Flickr