The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

20mm on E-P1...noisy!

D

daggerlee

I bought the 20mm here in Hong Kong...and I tried it out on my E-P1.

It's my first time using a AF lens on this...and I noticed that the lens keeps on stopping down when I point it around, especially at bright light sources.

The DPReview mentions that it will stop down to around 2.8 automatically on the E-P1...but mine seems to stop down more than that. When I point it at a fluorescent light, it stops down to what looks like 5.6 or greater.

This is before I press the focus button...

My E-P1 is firmware 1.1 and the lens is 1.0. Any ideas on how to stop it from constantly stopping down? It's quite noisy!

D

daggerlee

OK I just had a look at Brian Mosley's impression at dpreview and he seems to have the same problem.

I agree...this is annoying! maybe I should have forked over extra money for the GF1...

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
Can't speak to the E-P1, but the Panny 20 absolutely ROCKS on the GF1!

barjohn

I have now sold my E-P1 so i can't test that for you. What mode is the camera set to? I notice that in IA mode the GF1 goes into a continuous AF tracking mode and is noisy and in shutter priority the aperture continuously changes as the lighting changes but it is quiet.

PeterB666

I normally use aperture priority on my E-P1 and any other camera come to think of it so wouldn't be an issue for me.

Brian Mosley

I wouldn't say the ticking noise as the E-P1 does the 'aperture dance' is noisy... and after a day of shooting, I've stopped noticing it unless I focus my attention on it.