The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Poor man's Nocti (GF1)

s.agar

As a hobbyist, I tried the Nikkor 50/1.2 MF lens on the GF1.

Results are very promising from F1.4 and on. With the smallest light source, using GF1's ability to go up to 800 ISO without much problems, I think I may use this setup for street photography as well.

It works like a 100mm lens, which means I may stay far from the subject, which in some cases may be an advantage. ( although mostly not!)

Next trial will be the 35/1.4 AI-S, but from longggg ago, I remember that it's a very poor lens up to F2.8. We'll see.

Tomorrow I will try to post some street photos taken with the 50mm.

Seyhun

V

Vivek

Seyhun,

This (50/1.2) is not all that great on the m4/3rds. For reasons I do not understand, while it works fabulously (wide open) even on APS-C Nikon cams, I do not like it on my G1. I tried it once and gave up.

Let us see some pics and if it works for you. I will be most interested to see wide open snaps.

s.agar

Here are 2 samples. I think both were taken with F1.4. ISO was 500 and 640 if I'm not mistaken.
Tonight I will try the Summicron 35mm, and see what happens. The 50/1.2 is not going to be my favorite lens on GF-1 either.

Car photo processes with Silkypix, the street shot with PSE6. No major processing in both cases. Not even WB.

Finally, I couldn't resist posting one photo from the Bosphorus, taken with the kit lens. IMO, GF1 has the Leica look to some extent, and I like that.

Seyhun

M

MannyGS

s.agar,