The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

GF1 or Pentax KX + Canon S90

nostatic

I'm not a professional photographer and I have a very solid perspective of cost/benefit when it comes to buying "hoby toys"...I will never pay that kind of money for a lens.
I shoot most of my stuff with wide angles, so the 20mm f1.7 that comes with the GF1 really scores BIG points there.
The Pentax 31/1.8 is a sublime lens. But actually my favorite was the 77/1.8. That this was magic. I gladly paid for it. I'd rather have a few really good lenses than a bunch of stuff just to have...a bunch of stuff.

Plus I bought those lenses before the prices jumped. And sold them afterwards...so that worked out ok.

My theory is to buy what I really want the first time and be done with it. Invariably if I try to cheap out on something that I really like, will use, and am serious about (even if it is a hobby), I will end up being dissatisfied, selling at a loss and buying what I wanted down the road anyway.

Rawfa

The 20mm f1.7 may not be a wide angle but it's wider than anything out there with a f1.7 aperture that is either too bulky or too expensive (or both).

So if you guys want to know what I've chosen here it is....The E-P1 with the 20mm :) Hahaha. No one saw that one coming! I know, I know I'm probably the guy who complained the most about this camera in the forum, but after having tried the rest I've found it to be the "best" compromise between both worlds (compact and DSLR)...even though it has lost of flaws IMO.

So here are the actual results.