The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Beginner - quick tips on taking pics

MRfanny

Ok, so I got this really odd request from a friend to take some pics at a funeral. I have no photography background at all other than happy snaps. She is fully aware of this but still i would like to do a good job at it. I think i am quite good at composition, though it may be too arty for a funeral?

Can you guys suggest some basic ground rules to follow when shooting indoors for me to fall back on. ISO, shutter speed, etc...

I would really like to shoot it all in black and white, yet to be confirmed. Is it ok to shoot colour then desaturate it in post so I can have the best of both, or is it better to just shoot in b/w setting?

What i have to play with is my gh1, stock 14-140kit lens, contax zeiss 28 + 35 f2.8 and a contax zeiss 50 f1.4. I was thinking of just bringing the kit lens for super wide shots and the 28 and 50.

Any hints/tips much appreciated.

cheers.

Terry

You could shoot B&W and color together. Two different ways:

a) RAW + jpeg. The jpeg could be set to B&W and you still have the color RAW file if you indeed need a color version. (Not sure what software you use)

b) Multi Film mode. You can set the camera to use two different "films" and it will literally make two different jpegs one in color one in B&W. Best to look at the manual for the settings and play around a bit because the camera will feel a bit more sluggish at it is working on both shots (It may even take more than one shot - one for each film mode - I forget exactly how it works)