The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Setting up the E-PL1

simonclivehughes

I just picked up an E-PL1 to join my G1, GH1 and GF1. I'm going to use it almost exclusively with my CV 75mm f2.5 lens (although the 50mm f1.5 and 90mm f3.5 may see usage too) especially for the IBIS. I will be shooting Aperture mode and RAW (with jpeg to see how they are).

I'm new to Oly and so the whole menu phantasmagoria is a little daunting. I want to set the cam up to be a good quick people/street shooter.

I'd love to get some feedback from you Oly Pen users as to tip and tricks to set up the camera. I'm going through the manual with the camera, but any first-hand knowledge would be appreciated. :confused:

Cheers,

Terry

The first thing you need to do is enable everything important (which Oly hides). So you need to turn on the custom geared menu.

Audii-Dudii

At the risk of hijacking this thread and taking it in another direction, I'll be interested to learn your thoughts about how the E-PL1 compares to Panasonic's "three Musketeers."

I recently purchased one myself (specifically because it will do longer bulb exposures than any of my other m4/3 bodies) and was surprised to discover that for the subject matter I photograph, it has the best IQ of them all. Only very slightly in some instances, but clearly noticeable in others...

Alas, I don't really "like" the camera -- of them all, the GF1 provides the best user experience, IMO -- but in the end, it's the results that matter most, so I'm learning to live with it.

simonclivehughes