The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Need help with GF1 macro

E

Evy

Hello, can anybody please help me. I am interested in doing macro photography and would like to attach my Panasonic 45-200mm and my Panny 20mm 1.7f to my GF1 in order to create a macro lens. What will I need for step-up/down and reverse rings to do this? Also can you please advise as to what type of twin flash I can use for my lenses? Last question, do I need an EVF to do macro work? I know I can't use both the flash and the EVF on a GF1, so I'm not so sure I can accomplish what I want :confused:

Appreciate your help; I'm a newbie in photography, and this is also my first post :)

photoSmart42

Hello, can anybody please help me. I am interested in doing macro photography and would like to attach my Panasonic 45-200mm and my Panny 20mm 1.7f to my GF1 in order to create a macro lens. What will I need for step-up/down and reverse rings to do this?
In order to reverse mount your 20 to the 45-200, you'll want a couple of adapter rings and a reversing ring in between that has a male-male thread. You'll want to set the aperture on your 20 first on the body, then detach the lens while still powered to lock that aperture in place. The downside of doing all that is you'll end up losing some of the excellent IQ of your 20 by feeding it through the 45-200, which isn't as good of a lens.

An alternative is to buy a reversing adapter for your 20 and attach it directly to the GF1 body. It would give you a much more compact setup and still end up with about 1.4:1 magnification. If you want more magnification, you can add some m4/3 extension tubes.