The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Panasonic GH2 w/ 14-140mm and Adobe Lightroom

W

wigginjs

I'm doing a 30 day trial of Adobe Lightroom 3 and I'm concerned because the Panasonic 14-140mm lens is not listed in the "lens profiles" for automatic lens distortion correction. I was hoping to use Lightroom to develop my RAW files instead of the Silkypix software that comes with the camera. Any GH2 owners who are using Lightroom? Does anyone know if there is a way to add support for this and other Panasonic lenses to Lightroom?

I have been using Lightroom for about six months now.

First for a G1 and now for a GH2.

Until you made this post I never considered matching it to specific lenses. I just use it as it comes and the images are great.

Tony

Terry

Lens corrections are built in to the m4/3 files so you shouldn't need to correct through Lightroom. What you see in LR should already be corrected.

W

wigginjs

TEBnewyork:

This is true for JPEG files, but RAW files from the GH2 are not corrected for lens distortion. It is just the direct output from the image sensor with no processing. You can see this by opening a RAW file in Silkypix and disabling the lens correction.

W

wigginjs

Did a little more reading and I think TEBnewyork is spot on, I just didn't understand what he meant. From the DPreview GH1 review where they analyzed the 14-140mm lens. This may be a non-issue, but for a somewhat complex reason: