The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

What 4/3 camera to supplment medium format outfit for safari and sport?

GMB

I am a total 4/3 newbie, currently shooting with MF and Leica M9. I am looking for a small camera with relatively good image quality to supplement my normal outfit. Specifically, I am looking for something I can take on a safari to supplement my Leica S2, which is short on the long lens side. I am not shooting for National Geographic and there is no way that I will be schlepping around a full frame DSLR with the big gun (and now way I would put the money on the table for that), but I want to make a few shots where I would need something long, just for fun. Based on an article in LL, I am quite intrigued by the Panasonic GH2, but I also recognize that it is probably at the end of its cycle. The G3 seems to be almost as good, and is cheaper and smaller. The 100-300 mm for these cameras seems to produce great results. Anyway, any advice much appreciated. Thanks. Georg

woodmancy

Subscriber Member
The GH2 is a better choice for supporting the longer m4/3 lenses. It also has a very complete mechanical interface which would be more useable on safari. I like the larger sensor which handles multiple aspect ratios.

Keith

Last edited:

Diane B

Look for posts by Terry Banet (TEBnewyork) here and in dpreview
http://forums.dpreview.com/forums/read.asp?forum=1041&message=39948819 about using the GH2 and G3 with the 100-300 both on safari in Kenya and a recent birding shoot in Bosque del Apache. Since she has actual experience doing exactly what you are asking about her comments could be really helpful.