The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

What's the story so far? OMD-EM5

djonesii

Workshop Member
This shot was a true grab shot. Single point AF, in the center.

This was a low light ISO 1600 F2.8 shot with the 45 1.8.

While this may not be a pro sports camera, I'm not a pro sports shooter. The OM-D did every bit as good at documenting the swim season as my D300. The G3 could not do the job.

Dave

Paratom

After having used the OMD a bit more and 1 week vacation with it I would like to respond to the original question:
- I bought the OMD as a flexible, fast, solid walk around camera when I am outside and dont want to carry larger cameras.
So far the OMD has fullfilled that very good. The camera sits good in the hand (I allways use the grip), it feels fast (yes-c-af is not usable but s-af works ver well), and with my new favorite lens (the 14-150 Oly) it is very flexible but stil quite a bit smaller than a DSLR qith equivalent lens.
The IQ is quite good - specially the colors -which is an important point for me.
I own some more lenses now but during our vacation I mostly carried the 14-150 and the 20/1.7 for low light.
There is just one thing that I would like to have - smaller AF-point.
However the "focus on the eye"-setting seems to work quite well.
Conclusion: great, fast little camera and I find the 14-150 to be the near perfect lens for it.

The other camera I brought was a x-pro 1 with 3 lenses - which I also have used and do like a lot during that week.

kuau

Workshop Member
I am just wondering,