The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fun with the Lumix G X Vario 35-100mm f/2.8

ThePhotoSoup

On a OM-D, at F4 or F5.6 can this lens replace the Oly 45/1.8 and the Oly 75/1.8
I own both the 45 and 75 now and shoot them both at F4 95% of the time.

Or are the Oly primes still sharper?

Steven
I'm a new photographer so take this with a grain of salt. Everything I've read and learned so far has taught me that most of the time a prime will win the sharpness war against a zoom. These new Panny zooms are really really good though. I guess you'll just have to look at the images from this lens and decide for yourself. One thing I do know, that Oly 75mm is in a league of it's own. I've only been able to shoot a couple of pics with the 45mm but it seemed real nice too. I actually have a non-professional comparison of the 35-100mm vs. 75mm with a bunch of comparison images on my blog. The link is in my signature.

biglouis

I'm a new photographer so take this with a grain of salt. Everything I've read and learned so far has taught me that most of the time a prime will win the sharpness war against a zoom. These new Panny zooms are really really good though. I guess you'll just have to look at the images from this lens and decide for yourself. One thing I do know, that Oly 75mm is in a league of it's own. I've only been able to shoot a couple of pics with the 45mm but it seemed real nice too. I actually have a non-professional comparison of the 35-100mm vs. 75mm with a bunch of comparison images on my blog. The link is in my signature.