The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fun with the Olympus E-M1

Brian Mosley

Godfrey, sadly I sold my E-1 some years ago, but I have very fond memories of using it... could you please share your views of how the E-M1 compares in terms of ergonomics and use?

Thanks

Brian

Godfrey

Godfrey, sadly I sold my E-1 some years ago, but I have very fond memories of using it... could you please share your views of how the E-M1 compares in terms of ergonomics and use?
Hmm. I've been using the E-1 since 2008 and the E-M1 for a little over two weeks. Comparing them, the E-M1:

- is far more configurable
- is much faster in operation
- has a little sharper shutter sound
- is smaller and thinner without the grip, thinner with the grip
- has a better viewfinder.

The E-M1 is a deeper study, like the E-5 was compared to the E-1.

What I find which is similar is the capability to disappear in your hands and let you get on with the business in hand. Truly lovely*camera designs, both of them.

G

Brian Mosley

Thanks,

I remember shooting with the E-1 + 14-54... It was a delight to work with, something about the light weight, perfect size and beautiful soft shutter sound.

I get a different feeling with the E-M1, the E-1 still had an analogue feel somehow... Whereas the E-M1 feels quietly precise and much more digital - at least until I've got the muscle memory down for all the controls.

It's definitely inspiring me to want to get out and shoot!

Kind regards

Brian

Godfrey

I remember shooting with the E-1 + 14-54... It was a delight to work with, something about the light weight, perfect size and beautiful soft shutter sound.