The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

G1 newbie adapter question

Shac

I’m a newbie at this adapter game for the G1 and would appreciate some help. I’ve looked at the adapter list posted here and based on that it seems like I can buy 1) a dedicated adapters for each different make of lens, or 2) one Panasonic DMW-MA1 and with separate adapters for each lens type.

Is the main difference price (i.e. the second route is cheaper I estimate) or are there functional differences?

Thank you in advance for any help.
David

Godfrey

Fewer adapters does mean less fuss in the field when changing lenses, less chances to make errors. It can also mean better alignment and more strength in the lens assembly.

The DMW-MA1 is an essential if you have Olympus or Panasonic/Leica FourThirds SLR lenses you want to work with on the G1. The advantage if you get one, even if you don't have any of those lenses, is that there are a lot of inexpensive mount adapters for FourThirds SLR mount already available.

Ideally, a dedicated single adapter for each lens you want to use that goes directly on the body is the best kit, but that gets expensive and only a few direct adapters like that are available as yet.

Godfrey

Jonas

(...)
Is the main difference price (i.e. the second route is cheaper I estimate) or are there functional differences?
Hi David,