The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Zoomar 75mm/1.3 – first impression on the G1

View attachment 11626

In my collection I had a 75mm/1.3 Kilfitt Zoomar, http://www.kilfitt.org/Lenses/Zoomar_75.htm that I had never been able to use before. It is an odd lens that has both a C-mount and a Leica screw mount attachment. As I have not yet received the ordered C adapter, I tried attaching it to the G1 via the LSM. It turned out that I could not focus on anything, it needed a spacer. I am not very good with my hands, so I looked for the thinnest LSM extension ring I could find, a 17675 X that adds approx.10mm. It proved too long and set at Infinity the lens would focus at about 30cm.

I was impatient to get some results. Although this is not a macro lens, I decided to take an orchid at approx. 30cm . On the first image, I drew a black circle on the point I focused on.

The good surprise: it covers the whole sensor without any vignetting. Fully open, as is to be expected the DOF is minimal,

View attachment 11627

Zoomar 75mm on the G1 at f/1.3 - a bit on the soft side

View attachment 11628

Zoomar 75mm on the G1 at f/2.8 - already quite sharp

View attachment 11629

Zoomar 75mm on the G1 at f/5.6 - sharpness is excellent

I am looking forward to the C adapter, hoping that it will allow to focus correctly. On the other hand, I also wonder whether a C-mount adapter on the G1 will bear the weight of the lens, approx. 500g on my kitchen scale Otherwise I would need a thinner extension ring to continue using the LSM

I shall be glad for any tips.
Peter

monza