The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Wanting to G1

E

ekso

Hello.
In my search to buy something small, I found good reviews of the G1.
The best thing is that it's small enought to count as being portable ( I have babies in the other arm) and seems to give you access to older and cheaper lenses.

However here are my questions.
1. Buying the Kits ( from Jessops witht eh £50 cashback) is still £600. That's expensive and makes me have to justify a G1 over a EOS450D.
2. Should I buy only the body and then see if I can get some older cheaper lenses....bearing in mind, I am not technical and want to learn how to photograph, as opposed to pushing the limits on a lens.
3. I I do want to buy extra older lenses now or in future, it's so confusing. I have looked at the table witht he mounts, but that does not help me. on a limited budget with mount should I go for to maximise my lens options,a nd what sort of lenses should I look out for.

thanks
Ek.

Hello.
The best thing is that it's small enought to count as being portable ( I have babies in the other arm) and seems to give you access to older and cheaper lenses.

However here are my questions.
1. Buying the Kits ( from Jessops witht eh £50 cashback) is still £600. That's expensive and makes me have to justify a G1 over a EOS450D.
2. Should I buy only the body and then see if I can get some older cheaper lenses....bearing in mind, I am not technical and want to learn how to photograph, as opposed to pushing the limits on a lens.