The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Introduction and newbie G1 macro questions

H

heavyharmonies

Good morning. My first post here, so please be gentle. ;)

Background:

I am a complete and utter newbie when it comes to photography despite having taken pictures for years; I'm strictly point-and-shoot. No background at all in traditional photography (never owned a camera growing up).

I've tried to learn the terminology and the theory behind it all, but despite my being a tech geek when it comes to computers and electronics, for some reason photography eludes me. Metering, white balance, aperatures, exposure, etc., and the interaction between the various aspects as well as the sheer complexity of digital cameras, and my eyes roll back into my head.

When I'm doing shots and I see something I want to change, I know where I want to go (brighter, darker, greater depth of field, changing the white balance, etc.), I just don't know which settings to change in order to get there without messing up the parts that are currently ok. I'll change a setting, and the next shot will be better in one aspect but worse in another; it's the interplay of all the settings that makes me feel like I'm trying to hit a moving target.

What I really need is a hands-on digital photography class to build concepts from the ground up, but haven't found any locally. I think having someone show me things would help them stick.