The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Lenses and adapters for E-P1?

tom in mpls

Please explain lenses and adapters for E-P1

I am soon to be an owner of the E-P1 and am very excited about it's potentials (and reports so far are encouraging!)

However, I am new to Oly and have no background or familiarity with it's lens systems and what other lenses can be adapted. The abbreviations and shorthand used to identify lenses in other posts have left me puzzled. I understand the 2 lenses that are being released with the camera, the 17mm and 14-42mm, but after that I'm mystified.

I would greatly appreciate it if someone would take the time to provide a brief summary. Which autofocus lenses can be used? And are there certain older Olympus lens systems, or other lens brands, that can be adapted with good results? Info on adapters also appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited:

peterm1

I with you Tom - I have never used Oly stuff before and I just got the E-P1. I also just ordered a Panasonic 4/3 to micro 4/3 adapter from B&H ($139), and a Nikon F to 4/3 Fotodiox adapter from Amazon ($30). Using these two adapters stacked, I should be able to use my Nikon manual focus and Zeiss ZF Nikon-mount lenses on the E-P1.

Various companies are selling other adapters for other systems like Leica M-mount, etc. There is a chart in the first thread on this forum on these, and Cameraquest sells some, although their Nikon to 4/3 adapter is much more expensive than the Fotodiox one.

This site might also be of some help: http://www.four-thirds.org/en/microft/lense.html.

Regards,

Peter

Terry