The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Is film practical for higher volume work?

kevin

...and (for me) the B&W Prints won't look the same as with film no matter how many programs you run on the digital files.
I'm finding that's true as well. Since I'm shooting only 35mm right now, I'll stick with the Nikon 5000, but the Imacon would be an easy choice if I start shooting larger film formats. :)

fotografz

Glen:

It was very nice seeing you again the other night at Dale's. Per our conversation, I am one of those that has gone back to film and, as you know, I am a wedding photographer and I shoot anywhere from 15-25 rolls per event (depending on the wedding).

I am very happy with the quality of the scans I receive from my lab. I think the best option for you is to find a lab to try out. I sent all my film to Richard Photo Lab (http://www.richardphotolab.com) in L.A. and I highly recommend them.

Hope this helps and let me know if you have additional questions.

Cheers,
If I may ask, what's the turn-around time. I'm so sick of digital processing I could scream. It'd be great to at least offer a premium wedding approach using film again ...

Riccis

If I may ask, what's the turn-around time. I'm so sick of digital processing I could scream. It'd be great to at least offer a premium wedding approach using film again ...
Fotografz:

I overnight my film on Monday morning and it's usually back the following Friday, so their turnaround is approx 2 weeks, maybe 3 at the height of the season.