The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Is it worth shooting in B+W?

A

antiochus66

i have only been processing b&w film myself for 6 weeks and i love it.
i would never give my film to a lab again,my method is self taught slapdash,sometimes idiotic but always fun. you will find great stocks available even 15 year old ebay out of date film will work...shooting black and white is just so cheap as well.
a couple of dollars for film,the chemicals i reuse all the time,you can even ue coffee and washing soda..

pfigen

"That is my problem. I "properly" underexposed the K-14 slides and they look great to the eye, but the scanner can't seem to punch through them. I'll work on it some more."

K14 Kodachromes can have a real d-max of up to 3.8 and your scanner only can capture about 2.8 d-max, so it's no wonder you're losing the bottom three or four stops of detail on your scans. The ONLY way to scan Kodachrome is with a sensor that can record all the way down to a 3.8 or higher d-max and that, of course, means a photomultiplier tube and a drum scanner. There simply is no CCD scanner, no matter what the claims, that can scan anything above about a 3.0 d-max, even the much applauded Imacon.

"But maybe I'm more picky now."

Undoubtedly. That's a good thing.

Z

zzyzx

Why are you scanning at all? Why not just large format film and contact print at the size of the negative? It is still viable and results in excellent prints and a controlled, inexpensive workflow.

A few excellent prints are much nicer than bins of 'OK' work.

Keep it simple and concentrate on the image rather than the process.

Stuart Richardson