The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

How about a more fun with IR thread?

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
Looks great Guy. Did you use a custom white balance? I started playing around with different legacy lenses on my G1 IR today and noticed that there are noticeable differences in exposure and color balance with different lenses using the same in camera WB setting. Guess the lens coatings could have a significant effect on IR transmission.
No it is what precision calibrated it for which in C1 the raws are 2550 kelvin with minus -40 tint. So that is what the camera WB is set at right now. Which from there I can play around quite a bit with the raw and this is something I need to figure out as well. Yes i would agree on different legacy glass having different effects for sure , some maybe coated and some may not plus each manufacturer uses different coatings as well. So we will have variables.

What this will come down to is maybe less scientific processing but more process to taste. So suggestion is make sure your system is calibrated with monitor and such. This is going to come down to the naked eye and the artist impression of what they feel has the nicest effect for a given image. I think we can have great starting points to figure out than let your eye take over.

Jack

Sr. Administrator
Staff member
Here is one of the above images -- the jpeg -- converted to false color. I am finding for IR the in-camera jpegs (at least these GF1 jpegs) make for simpler processing in many ways compared to the raws, without much discernible loss in IQ...

Terry