The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

I need some advice

Woody Campbell

Workshop Member
So I've been shooting daily for my photo-a-day blog for almost 6 months with my Leica M kit and Hasselblad MF kit and occaisionaly with my Panasonic GF1. What I'm missing is parties, dinners, events, etc., anything with animals and small children and anything with a lot of motion. Looking at my blog (there's a link to it below my signature) you would think that there's not a living think on earth.

The Leica kit is problematic for me in poor available light because I'm slightly astigmatic - doesn't bother me in decent light but fully dilated I find it hard to focus. Events push the GF1 to or past its limits - it's just a bit too slow and high ISO isn't there.

Last time I was happy shooting events it was with a Canon 5D (which I've given to my daughter). So I'm thinking . . . maybe a 5DII and a 50mm f1.2L. An extra battery and backup charger, and off I go. Costs about the same as a typical Leica M lens - I've got a lot of them so I could sell one to finance it. I've shot Canon a lot so it's not a great leap mastering it.

Am I nuts?

T

tokengirl

I don't think you're nuts. It's a lovely camera with great high ISO performance, and if you were happy with the autofocus of the 5D, the MkII will be just fine. (I only mention this because there are a whole lot of people all over the internet who were very surprised that the autofocus of the 5DMkII was not as sophisticated as Canon's $5-8,000 cameras. Go figure.)