The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

24mm-70mm L2.8 USMI

R

RFM3

Upfront - I'm a newbie (sortof) with an expensive lens. So be gentle...

I have a Rebel T1i with a 24mm-70mm L2.8 USMI. Bought it because I wanted sharp pictures. Also thought that because of 2.8 I could take better pics in lower light without flash.

In Av Mode, I've noticed that in moderate light, afternoon shade, with 2.8 selected - it chooses a very slow shutter speed say 1/30 or more. If I pop the flash, it goes even slower. Does that sound right? Seems counter intuitive.

In the auto modes, it does vary speeds and apertures, as well as ISO.

In Tv mode, taking same pic at a faster speed 1/200, it will choose 2.8 and the pic is only slightly less exposed.

Am I just over my head with the lens or does it sound like something is wrong. Any diagnostics that anyone can suggest? Open to input/comments.

Thanks

R

RFM3

Still looking for some input. I apologize for the newbie question. Would appreciate any help.

arild

Take a look at your metering. I don´t know the specifics of your camera, but one place that most assuredly will have answers for you, would be photography-on-the.net.

The onboard flash of your rebel will get in trouble illuminating pretty much anything due to the size of your lens hood.

raywest

In Av mode, the speed will depend on the iso setting. In Tv mode the aperture will depend on the iso setting. In Tv mode, If you've set it to 1/200, and the iso is set too low, the aperture can not go lower than 2.8 - so you get what you get. I guess your iso is set too low for both Av and Tv.