The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

something to think about....Canon semi-MF?

LJL

O.K., let me preface this by saying that I have no knowledge, leaked info, or anything else on Canon and forward plans. I just got to thinking a lot more after seeing the Leica S2 pricing and stuff.

Do any folks think that Canon could produce something similar to the S2, but done with Canon strengths and capabilities? By this I mean does it seem feasible to maybe build a new body that could handle a sensor about the size and density of what is in the S2, and still be able to utilize the EOS mount and other features to some degree? As we have seen, the new 17mm TSE lens can throw quite an image circle, so it may be realistic to enable use of a larger sensor in a newly designed body.

My thinking was to also create a new line of glass, call it "L+" for lack of anything more creative that would fit the EOS mount for the camera, and have stellar performance levels rivaling Leica's stuff. Canon (or even Nikon at this point) have enough depth in the 35mm DSLR market, and at the higher performance end where folks are looking for this sort of camera and glass (S2 type stuff), that they could build it.

My thoughts are that this new camera could still utilize existing EOS mount glass, but maybe that could trigger an internal masking on the sensor back to present 35mm FF size or something, while the "L+" glass would cover the larger image circle. There may have to be some adjustments with depth mounting, etc., but that seems doable.