Site Sponsors
Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: X100 new firmware is live

  1. #1
    Super Duper
    Senior Member
    Terry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,955
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1145

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Grr.

    Getting an "input / output error" message, when I try to copy
    My Flickr

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Cindy Flood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,376
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    118

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Quote Originally Posted by OlliL View Post
    Grr.

    Getting an "input / output error" message, when I try to copy
    Olli, Make sure that you have turned the camera to on.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Thanks Cindy, I did that

    Didn't work on two computers, so I just put it directly on my SD-card and it worked flawless.

    Now testing the new features.
    My Flickr

  5. #5
    Super Moderator Cindy Flood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,376
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    118

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Quote Originally Posted by OlliL View Post
    Thanks Cindy, I did that

    Didn't work on two computers, so I just put it directly on my SD-card and it worked flawless.

    Now testing the new features.
    It seems that they made the instructions overly complicated. I don't know why they just didn't have us copy straight to the SD card in the first place.

  6. #6
    Subscriber Member Streetshooter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    1,431
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    17

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Remember these are the engineers that made mistakes in the camera. Of course they would do the same for the update....

    There's a great improvement in the camera.

    1. The following functions can be locked during shooting by holding down [MENU / OK] button over 3 sec.
    DRIVE / Flash / White balance / Macro (set on the Command Dial - 4 direction key)
    2. "CORRECTED AF FRAME" menu is added in "SET-UP" menu (the last line on menu page 6) to display additional AF frame (corrected AF frame for reducing parallax) which can be effectively used for macro shots. (Factory default value is set to "OFF")
    3. Adjustment in1/3 step increment for shutter speed or aperture setting is enabled in Shutter-Priority AE and Aperture-Priority AE mode, on top of those in Manual Exposure mode.
    Shutter-Priority AE : Adjustment is controlled by rotating the command dial
    Aperture-Priority AE : Adjustment is controlled by moving left / right on the command control lever
    4. In the post-view mode (display after shooting), focused area is magnified in the LCD (EVF) display when the command control lever is pressed.
    Cf. "IMAGE DISP." Setting must be set to "CONTINUOUS",
    5. Setting of the role for "Fn" button is enabled by holding down "Fn" button over 3 sec.
    6. Actual ISO sensitivity for shooting is displayed just after pressing shutter button halfway, when "ISO AUTO CONTROLL" is set to ON.
    7. When "eye sensor" is activated by pressing "VIEW MODE" button, "EYE SENSOR" is displayed on EVF / OVF or LCD just a while to notice the status.
    8. Macro mode ISO sensitivity, Drive mode, Dynamic range, Self-timer mode, flash mode is maintained even if shutter speed setting or aperture setting is changed. Also, even after changing viewing mode into shooting mode or turning of the camera, these values are maintained.
    9. The size of focus frame set through viewing EVF / LCD is maintained even after changing display mode between OVF and EVF (LCD).
    10. When "SHUTTER SOUND" is chosen, each shutter sound is performed in each menu setting.
    11. In viewing mode, the last viewed shot is maintained as even after changing into shooting mode.
    Cf. After another image is shot after viewing former image, memory of viewing the image is cancelled and the last shot is displayed as the latest image.
    12. When the aspect ration of the image size is set to 16:9, the line of bright frame line on OVF is displayed with aspect ratio 16:9.
    13. Viewing mode with Photo Information on EVF / LCD is maintained even if another image is shot. On top of this issue, deleting picture directly is enabled even in viewing with Photo information by pressing the command dial up, or MENU operation is also enabled.
    14. Occasionally, preview image on EVF / LCD after pressing the shutter halfway might be darker than live view, according to aperture setting or brightness of shooting target. This phenomenon is improved.
    15. When "DISP. CUSTOM SETTING" is set to OVF or EVF / LCD, the setting value is maintained even after customizing the menu.
    16. Even for only RAW data recording mode, "RED EYE REMOVAL" setting is selectable among ON or OFF.
    17. In MF (manual focus) setting with OVF mode, OVF viewing is activated after pressing shutter half way, even if "FOCUS CHECK" (magnifying center of the image) is displayed in EVF by pressing the center of the command control lever.
    18. Displaying period after pressing each command dial (Macro / Flash) is prolonged from 1.5 sec into 2.0 sec for confirming correctly.
    20. For resuming from AUTO POWER OFF setting, the shutter release button was required to hold down halfway for a few second. For quicker operation, resuming is activated by just pressing the button.
    21. Image quality captured by Velvia / ASTIA mode is improved on mainly shadow tone (dark area), when dynamic range is set to 200% or 400%.
    22. When "OVF POWER SAVE MODE" is set to ON and "Fn" button is set to "MOVIE RECORDING", the camera may be unstable occasionally. This phenomenon is improved.
    23. Histogram display on OVF during exposure compensation is improved.
    The firmware up date ver.1.01 incorporates the improvement against inadequate operation shown in the following.
    1. If the images are shot with ISO Bracketing mode when "QUICK START MODE"(*1) is set to "ON" and turn off the camera,the camera cannot be turned on again even with ordinary operation.
    *1 Menu of "QUICK START MODE" is set to "OFF" as factory-default value.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Cindy Flood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,376
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    118

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Quote Originally Posted by Streetshooter View Post
    Remember these are the engineers that made mistakes in the camera. Of course they would do the same for the update....
    ...snip...
    After I read all of the instructions, I thought why not just copy straight to the card, but it would not let me. I'm glad Ollie was able to get it done.
    I jumped through all of the hoops and got it done that way, too.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Cindy, it doesn't work, when the card is in the camera.
    I think that Windows has certain protection for Cameras, that are not shown as a Mass Storage device.
    Had to use the card reader.

    Maybe helpful for others, too
    My Flickr

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Cindy Flood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,376
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    118

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    I was on a Mac. I could not copy directly to my card (which was in the SD slot of my MacBookPro). I ended up following their instructions for using the USB cable and it worked perfectly... just seemed kind of silly to me to have to use the USB cable instead of copying the file right onto my card and inserting it into my camera. YMMV

    Quote Originally Posted by OlliL View Post
    Cindy, it doesn't work, when the card is in the camera.
    I think that Windows has certain protection for Cameras, that are not shown as a Mass Storage device.
    Had to use the card reader.

    Maybe helpful for others, too

  10. #10
    Super Duper
    Senior Member

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Ithaca, NY
    Posts
    2,902
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Quote Originally Posted by Cindy Flood View Post
    I was on a Mac. I could not copy directly to my card (which was in the SD slot of my MacBookPro). I ended up following their instructions for using the USB cable and it worked perfectly... just seemed kind of silly to me to have to use the USB cable instead of copying the file right onto my card and inserting it into my camera. YMMV
    Hi Cindy,

    I just dragged the firmware file to my SD card with no problems, using a desktop Mac mini with USB card reader. Updated just by holding down the back button on the X100 while turning on the camera.
    Carl
    Gallery

  11. #11
    Super Moderator Cindy Flood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    3,376
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    118

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    I tried to drag it and then I copied it and tried to paste it...no cigar. Once I got it on the card (per their lengthy route), then it updated by holding down the back button as you describe.
    Doesn't really matter except to let others know that they might try just dragging it to a card first.

    Quote Originally Posted by scho View Post
    Hi Cindy,

    I just dragged the firmware file to my SD card with no problems, using a desktop Mac mini with USB card reader. Updated just by holding down the back button on the X100 while turning on the camera.

  12. #12
    Senior Member fordfanjpn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Tokyo
    Posts
    550
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    I just dragged it on to an SD card using a card reader (on a Mac). No problems at all. But I haven't had time to play with the camera since I did the update. Hopefully today before it starts raining again.

    Bill

  13. #13
    Senior Member dhsimmonds's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    831
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    20

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    I just dragged it on to the empty SD card using Mac's Finder. It then loaded into the camera, no problem! It is better not to read the instructions and just follow normal computer practice and then the straightforward messages on the X100's LCD screen!
    Cheers, Dave
    www.simmondsphotography.com

  14. #14
    Member jpmac55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Averill Park, NY
    Posts
    57
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    The process worked for me on the first X100 release and several Leica updates as well. This latest X100 firmware has been problematic, even with several different cards. I ended up contacting the Fuji service center in New Jersey. After a few questions and answers, they suggested trying it with another computer. It worked but not sure we solved the riddle.
    John

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    541
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    There's a new FW available, which supposedly improves close focus AF.
    Haven't downloaded myself though.
    My Flickr

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    California
    Posts
    204
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Quote Originally Posted by OlliL View Post
    There's a new FW available, which supposedly improves close focus AF.
    Haven't downloaded myself though.
    downloaded and installed! all good, happy close focus
    We need to re-enter all time setting again though, possible losing all custom settings.
    Sonny

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    2,072
    Post Thanks / Like
    Images
    1

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Just a note for all.

    If you want to use the "Auto" flash mode you must be in the program mode. It doesn't show as an option when in Manual, A priority or S priority.

    I checked with Fuji in New Jersey and they said that is the way it works. It is not problematic but the logic behind configuring it this way escapes me.

    Woody

  18. #18
    Member jpmac55's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Averill Park, NY
    Posts
    57
    Post Thanks / Like

    Re: X100 new firmware is live

    Thanks, Woody. Another intuitive user interface.
    John

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •