The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Use of Bellows For Flower Photography etc.

cs750

I have photographed many flowers using a 200mm Nikon macro lens, but now that I have the Mamiya 645DF, I have been considering the Mamiya Auto Bellows for flower photography mostly in the studio. I am unsure of whether bellows would be useful because I have no experience with using bellows...and don't really understand it's advantages (if any). I realize bellows would be bulky. I have Mamiya extension rings and a Mamiya 120mm macro lens. Are there any substantial advantages or disadvantages with respect to depth of field using bellows? While I might do some extreme macros...that is not my primary interest at this time. What if anything would bellows bring to my table? Charles

M5-Guy

The main difference with bellows is that the "Extension" is continually variable.
With Tubes, it is a fixed extension. And a bit easier to move around.
You may not need a tripod with tubes.
With Bellows, you will need a tripod.
Use manual or aperture priority metering with bellows. Usually they don't have any communication to the camera. NO AF either,
Tubes may allow AF, depending on what contacts it has.

Jan Brittenson

Senior Subscriber Member
A bellows will also give you a wider choice of lenses, especially lenses that work well at high magnifications. Like enlarger lenses.

Bugleone

If you use a bellows with both front and back standards geared (ie., movable) then you can focus by moving the image plane (camera) this allows you to focus without changing the size of the subject,...a very useful ability for any fine close up or macro work.