The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Dual 60TB, how do I begin to do that?

Ben Rubinstein

A project I've been working on has just changed drastically in size. Basically over two years I'll be in charge of a unit photographing 1 million pages using a 40 megapixel back. Even at the RAW compressed size that's a staggeringly huge 53 Terabytes of data and I'll need redundancy, off site redundancy by choice. If I want to use 16bit uncompressed Tiff we're talking about some 200TB!

How do I even begin to do that? A huge Raid setup with networking to the offsite? Mutiple smaller units networked? I'm not a computer engineer, this project had originated as using a 28 megapixel back over about 5 more years as is being currently forecast so the original estimates were way, way off.

cjlacz

That's a lot of space. Something like this with the extension cabinet would hold 24 drives, or 72TB, -6TB for raid 6 redundancy. You'd need a second setup for backup of course. That's probably on the affordable side without building your own boxes.

If it was me, I'd probably look at higher end options, especially for better performance. Synology has some options, but looking at real enterprise storage might be the way to go. That's out of my range of knowledge though.

I'd try to find a solution that you can grow with. Either adding disks, expansion units etc. Storage gets cheaper at a pretty rapid rate and I'd try to add storage as you need it. Creating a system that isn't going to be filled up for at least two years isn't economical.

Good luck!

bensonga