The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Scan issues and assistance (Nikon coolscan V)

I

iriscaddis

Guys, this forum has been beneficial but I am looking for tutorials and training resources on scanning film.

When I scan (not very often) there are issues of color: from monitor to print; from color transparency (velvia 50), and sharpness. My images just don't look sharp whether in digital or print. I know I am doing something wrong and Nikon's site is not too good of a resource. And I am not a pro. I'm just a guy who loves his Leica's and on the fence if I should drop 9K on a M9 (or M8.2)!

Any links or thoughts would be most appreciated.

Tools:
Nikon CoolScan V ED (v4.0.2 software)
Epson R1800 printer
Leica M6, MP, M7
Velvia, Kodchrome, etc.

Cindy Flood

Super Moderator
Welcome to the forum.
That is a pretty broad question. There are so many things that could be leading to your discontent. I'll tell you what I do. I have had the Nikon V and it is a good scanner. The R1800 I found to print just a little dark, but you should be able to compensate for that if all of your other systems are in order. Your cameras are stellar.