The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Adobe Creative Cloud, is there a catch somewhere?

Jorgen Udvang

Subscriber Member
Being a photographer as well as a graphic designer, I depend on a large portion of Adobe's creative software. Since not upgrading to CS 6 isn't an option, I was looking at a cost of $2,599 (Master Collection, I need web and video editing programs as well), which is a lot of money. Then I see the Creative Cloud option, $49.99 per month for the whole package. A quick calculation tells me that I'll be using the products for 4 years and 4 months before I overtake the 2,599, not to speak about the fact that there'll probably be CS7 and possibly even CS8 available by then, upgrades that are included in the cloud option.

Is there a catch hidden somewhere or is this the way to buy Adobe products in these virtual, cloudy times?

TRSmith

Subscriber Member
I'm in pretty much the same boat. I've been upgrading the Adobe Suite products since they were introduced. I don't know how the cloud thing will work but my first impression is that it's a great deal for folks who don't already own it or just want to rent part of it.

The same upgrade paths will be available as in the past. Which is probably what I will do (i.e. pay the $299 - $499 to upgrade my license to the new version). My work depends on it too heavily to risk an issue that might cause me to be unable to work when I really must.

Tim