The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Chroma key

Jorgen Udvang

Subscriber Member
A potential new client needs to make studio shots where the subject (studio shots) will be placed in environments taken from available stock photos (nature scenes etc.). He mentioned "green screen" as a preferred method to achieve his goals (he has been using that before). I can see that there are advantages using a chroma key background compared to an all white one, I have no experience with this. What are the main advantages using this for still photography?

robertwright

I've not done it but I have made a lot of masks and the advantage is one click selection based on color range in photoshop.

HOwever its still not that easy- depending on how you light it and what you are masking on to things can look good or very bad, and so its not a substitute for everything.

Hensel also makes a masking system where you shoot two frames in rapid succession and on the second frame the front light does not fire (shooting against white seamless)- this gives you (if you do it right) a black mask frame to use that is pretty much exactly the person if they don't move much (I think you can shoot the two frames on continuous low or something like that).

Where it gets tricky is in hair, maintaining the right amount of transparency and feathering, inevitably you give people a "haircut" while masking. So that can look poor.

I think it depends on output size- for web you can probably get away with anything but in print you'd need a good retoucher to make a nice mask.