The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Capture One Pro 7 Sessions?

jpaulmoore

Hello all,
I just downloaded Capture One Pro 7 and I am new to the software. I have been busy watching as many video tutorials as possible, including the ones on Luminous Landscape.

What I am having the most problem (at the moment) understanding is how I do sessions, if the images already exist in folders on my computer. I know how to bring up the dialog box, but not how to select and import them into Capture One. The folder structure and where things are located is very confusing to me.

Any guidance here would be most helpful.
Regards,
J. Paul

jpaulmoore

Thanks Stephen! I too want to keep my own file structure so that part was confusing me to. Thanks for the video link. I have seen that one but just didn't quite understand it based on how I wanted to use Capture One.
Regards,
J. Paul

jlm

Workshop Member
way i use sessions, with a new set of images on my card:

when opening C1, "Recents" dialog come up; choose "new session", name it (i use: YYYY-MM-DD) and locate it in what ever subdirectory I want. i select "tethered" and then C1 will import to a folder named "captures" within this session (even though i am not tethered)
then C1 will open an empty "session" with the name you chose and create the captures, trash, output subfolders within it.
select "import", go to the card: the files on your card will be displayed, select the ones you want to import. they will go into that session's "capture" folder. when you finish the processing, the tiffs (what i usually create) will go to the output subfolder.