The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

new monitor-color space question

gurtch

Hi all:
I recently replaced my monitor with an ASUS Pro Art. This monitor allows selecting Adobe RGB mode, and supposedly is factory calibrated (I think it came with an inspection certificate certifying Adobe RGB mode accuracy). I calibrate/profile my monitor with a Spyder 3. I find this hardware/software easy to use, and straight forward. My question is: Up to now I have been using Prophoto RGB in Photoshop. Should I now change this to what I used to use, namely Adobe RGB, so they match? I am a novice in Color Mgt, but have been fortunate in achieving prints that match my monitor.
Thanks in advance, this site has helped me enormously.
Dave in NJ

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
Really no need to switch from Prophoto color space to Adobe. The gamut is a little bigger with ProPhoto color space and that's how I save my files. So in effect you may not see that gamut or even use it but you are future proofing yourself. But having that Adobe space on your monitor will certainly be a benefit. Right now printers like Epson 7900 and 9900 use Adobe RGB but what the future holds for even higher gamut printing remains a question. It does not hurt you to be saving in the highest gamut possible.

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
Something should be said here we can always dumb down color from a high gamut file what we can't do is add color. So always best to save your master tiff or PSd files in the biggest color space you can. That's mostly Prophoto. I think there is one even higher but harder to deal with.

Godfrey

Hi all: