The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

OSX 10.5.8....very snappy

Georg Baumann

Subscriber Member
Just upgraded 3 Mac's to 10.5.8 and all the relevant SMC and security updates. I am always a bit careful on this front and usually wait a few days to see whether there are major problems.

My strategy is always the same, disconnect all external devices, download combo update, run repair permissions, disconnect from internet and send little snitch to sleep, then apply combo update, and afterwards via software update the rest, re connect devices, run repair permissions again and pray.

So far, since I am new to macs, I did that since 10.5.4 with all three macs and did not have a single problem, knock wood.

5.8 feels a lot snappier than 5.7. on all three macs here.

Guy Mancuso

Administrator, Instructor
I just cleaned my whole system yesterday getting ready for Snow Leopard. But I strongly encourage backing up to a external before loading it.

Terry

Actually, with some of the latest Safari software I seem to be having some freeze ups. Spinning wheel and frozen Safari and force quitting. Almost like there is a memory leak. Anyone else?

glenerrolrd

Workshop Member
Actually, with some of the latest Safari software I seem to be having some freeze ups. Spinning wheel and frozen Safari and force quitting. Almost like there is a memory leak. Anyone else?
Yes I have the same problem with safari ..can t remember having this ever with the old version. Too bad the improvements don t seem to be worth sorting the software issues of continuous new releases.

J

jjlphoto