The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Questions about understanding Image Circles

ComicDom1

Subscriber Member
Since I am new to Large Format photography I have been reading and studying day and night. Of course one of the factors that I paid attention to while putting together my gear was the size of the Image Circle of the Lenses I was choosing. Color,Contrast, and Sharpness were also a concern.

I have been wondering on how the F stop selected affected the size of the Image Circle projected on the Film Plane. So I started looking for information on how to Calculate the Image Circle Size. Since I noticed when looking at lens specs that the manufacturers all seem to spec their lenses Image Circles at F 16 or F 22 I started to wonder what size are the Image Circles at F 4.5, 5.6, 8, 32, 45, or even F 64? Do image circles get progressively larger as you stop down and progressively smaller as you open up the lens? This might seem like a very simple question for some but also its a complicated one for someone like me who is new and might not understand yet how everything works. I certainly did not want to ruin an image because I did not stop down my lens enough to get a large enough Image Circle for coverage, and at the same time, I did not want to limit the F Stops that were usable with particular lens on my camera.