The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Focus and composition in very dark conditions.

tjv

Hey all,

This is a rather silly question, especially since I've been making a living from photography for over ten years, but...

How the heck do you compose and focus a view camera at night, or when photographing in dark conditions? I was out today and the contrast of the scene was extremely low and I could not view the image on the ground glass. I got my girlfriend to walk into the foreground and shine a torch on something so I could at least focus on that point and make an informed guess about the overall composition. Now, I know I was using a dark lens (a 90mm f/8 SA) but the situation wasn't much better with my 150mm f5.6. Honestly, I'm so used to using a rangefinder (Mamiya 7II) and being able to focus on almost anything that I've forgotten what it's like using a ground glass / SLR.

Can anyone give me any pointers that might aid in quick and easy setup etc?

Thanks for your help,

Tim

thrice

Wide angle fresnel, good dark cloth, a good loupe and a lot of time for your eyes to acclimatise. Other than that, you're right f/8 is a little slow for GG evaluation in low light. I struggle somewhat with f/4.5 in the dark! a powerful torch is a necessity.
Others may have more tricks, I'm only really a noob at LF myself :) But given 30 mins or so my eyes are usually up to the task.

Last edited:

routlaw

Tim