The GetDPI Photography Forums      

Go Back   The GetDPI Photography Forums > Digital Camera Forum > Large Format Cameras

Site Sponsors

Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By FredBGG
  • 2 Post By MJMoore

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 8th June 2012   #1

4x5 for portraits

I am a portrait photographer that wants to try 4x5 - I have done some research and looked at lots of setups online (ie. vintage graflex, Cambo,etc).

Can anyone with experience give me some guidance please -
I want to shoot color and black and white - Will be processed at a pro lab - a Polaroid back would be nice
What system could I shoot 4x5film and my Phase IQ140 back?

Thanks
Michael
MJMoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2012   #2

Re: 4x5 for portraits

The only 4x5 instant film that's left is the Fuji 3000 B&W. But you can get a holder that will allow you to use the 3.25x4.25 Fuji instant film in a 4x5 camera.

A general point: the specifications for optimal use of 4x5 vs an IQ140 are so different that it's usually an awkward compromise at best to try to serve both purposes with one camera. And perfectly good used 4x5 cameras can be had for so little these days, that it wouldn't save much anyway.

If you're going to be working in a studio, or at least going to particular locations, unpacking there and working for a while, it's reasonable and economical to start with a basic 4x5 monorail camera. My monorail kit is Sinar, but Toyo and Cambo/Calumet also have extensive systems and entry-level models that are very affordable used. There are excellent cameras from other brands too.

Lots of info here...

A large format photography home page

...and here:

Large Format Photography Forum
Oren Grad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 8th June 2012   #3
Not Available

Michael....

Have you considered shooting with a Fuji GX680?

I used to shoot 4x5 and Fuji GX680 and in the end ended up dropping 4x5 in favor of the Fuji GX680 and 8x10.