The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

More Fun with Large Format Film Images!

richardman

My first 4x5 and my first time using Scheimpflug. This is on a Chamonix 4x5 F1 with asymmetrical back tilt. It takes only one focus and one tilt to get it to work. Sweet.

The tones of 4x5 is just amazing. I made (sorry, I only do post and print using computer) a 17x22 print and the quality is astonishing, but you all know this. I am a noob later comer :)

petetsai

Starting to get the hang of this large format.

Valencia

Shot with the Deardorff V8, Portra 400 rated at 320, 14" Commercial Etkar f6.3 @ f11 1/50th 2 light Elinchrom ranger and quadra with 16" maxi lite and 26" softbox.

Valencia by PeteTsai, on Flickr

richardman

"At the Edge of Torrents"

My daughter and I went to the coast yesterday, which we usually do once or twice a year. I watched the waves coming over the rock "wall" with the sea palms for about 15 mins and found a spot about 25 feet from the rock wall for a photo. All these times, the wave only reached about 10 feet beyond the wall (yes, you can see where this is going, don't you?)

Then my daughter went back up for a moment, and I started to focus on the far side - the waves beyond the wall. This is with my head inside the dark cloth behind the 4x5 camera.

I saw a couple waves went over, and then I saw this big wave coming over on the ground glass and thinking to myself, hmmm... that wave looks kind of big... "Oh Sh*$%^t" and my legs got wet. Removing my head from the dark cloth, I saw that there were some spray on my camera and my camera bag 4 feet further away got soaked.