The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

50mm Summilux front focusing

panda81

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new to rangefinders, so this is a bit of an confounding situation for me. I think my 50mm Summilux ASPH is front focusing - I also have a 35mm lens, and it appears to work fine on the same camera body.

Has anyone had this type of adjustment made before? What's the best way to go about doing this?

Thanks in advance!

GrahamWelland

Subscriber & Workshop Member
Is it new or used? Is this in the US or elsewhere?

If it's under warranty then you could have this handled via Leica, otherwise it's probably a lot faster to get it adjusted by a third party such as Don Goldberg (DAG) or Sherry Krauter in the US. You could try any of these folks

Bought a brand new Summicron 35 ASPH a few weeks ago, and it backfocussed. None of my other lenses have a problem, either on the new M9 or my old M2, so obviously the lens is on a trip to Solms at present.

So, sure it can happen. And, equally sure, you´ll be told "it has never happened before..":wtf:

Stuart Richardson