The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Take every opportunity...(somewhat Leica related)

panda81

Just wanted to share about some very tough things going on recently...somewhat Leica related, but admittedly not really. But most of the relationships I have developed in these forums are specifically here in the Leica subforum, so I hope you'll let me slide just this one time...

Some of you may know (or maybe not) that I am a graduate student working on a Ph.D in molecular biology. The relationship between student and mentor is very unique in this setting - the mentor is much more than just a boss or supervisor. Perhaps it's the difficulties and struggles of the work and science that creates the unique bond. Most of these relationships end up lasting an entire lifetime, definitely deeper than just work or career level.

Last week, my mentor passed away due to injuries from a car accident. Her husband was driving them home from the airport in middle of the night, close to 1am. As they made a left turn into their gated community, a police car (responding to a call, but driving with no lights or sirens on) slammed straight into the passenger side of the car, where my mentor was sitting. We don't know exactly how fast the police car was going, but there were a few hints that indicated it was at an incredible speed, at least for the small neighborhood street they were driving on: 1) there were no signs of the police car breaking, and 2) from the estimated point of impact, the police car pushed their car 40 yards forward.