The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Lens recommendations for M9

Wayne Fox

Workshop Member
Now that I have a Leica dealership, I'm pulling a M9 in to sit on the shelf but it's actually going to be my personal camera to take along as a backup for my Alpa or PhaseOne system.

I'm a total noob to Leica, especially the lenses. When the rep visited recently I was able to play with one, and although it was sort of awkward, the image quality vs the size is outstanding, and I assume I can adjust to the viewfinder/rangefinder challenges.

The problem I'm having is locking in on what lenses I might want - no clue what the differences are in Summarit, Summicron, Elmar, etc . Also unclear how well the Tri lenses work.

I've been researching this for an hour or so, but while I continue to search, I thought I'd ask a few questions here ... it's obvious many of you have been leica users for a long time and maybe you can point me in the direction of some good sources for information as well as your opinions that might save me some time.

So what do all the lens types mean? Are some not really suitable for the digital m9?
How sharp are triple focal length lenses ... they sound like a nice idea to save space but is there a quality loss similar to zooms on dSLR? Specifically interested in a the Tri-Elmar 28-35-50 (which sounds like it was made pre M9 and maybe doesn't work so well ... don't see it on their website) and the 16-18-21.

If you were taking a basic 3 lens systems for a backup while shooting mainly landscape (wide/normal/short tele), which 3 lenses would you take?

Thanks for any advice.

Hacker