The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

M9 color shift for ultrawides

Alfonso

Hi! I'm pretty new to rangefinder photography, so far i'm liking it a lot, and i got a zeiss 25mm that has a slight red shift that is almost fixed by choosing the 28mm asph from the menu.

The thing is, i just got a 15mm voigtländer and i was expecting the red shift to be there as with the 25mm, so i choose the WATE @16mm for it, the problem is, the red shift is there but it's on the bottom of the frame, not in the left as i've seen while searching on the forum.

Seeing this i shot a short test with the 25mm uncoded and the red shift is also present on the bottom of the frame. As far as i have read, the color shift should be red in the left of the frame and cyan on the right, but it seems in mine only shows red on the bottom. I'll prepare some sample pics to illustrate this when i get home, but meanwhile, i would really appreciate some help, does anyone have the same behavior? I tried a summicron-c 40mm and in this focal length doesn't seem to show the problem anymore (i don't have anything longer than 40mm yet :p )

I tried using CornerFix that seems to do wonders for many users but my night samples were not good and it kept suggesting really weird corrections. What's the typical test shot to pass to CornerFix to create a profile for the lenses?

Anyway, any insight on how to deal with this problem would be greatly appreciated. I was thinking to contact leica, but then, i'm not sure what could i tell them if i'm using 3rd party lenses on it, guess they'll just say it's the lenses :cry:

Thanks in advance!

jonoslack

HI There Alphonso