The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Dust inside lens - self clean?

edmund

Dust/oil on sensor - self clean?

I just noticed some dust inside 2 of my CV lenses --- is there any way to self clean it? Or do I need to send it somewhere for CLA?

thank you!

Last edited:

SYGTAFOTO

Personally, I wouldn't bother unless it shows up in your images.
If it does need cleaning, I would just send it in.. I'm not an expert in taking apart and putting together lenses.

edmund

Thanks ---

It just started showing up in some photos, as I was shooting the sky.

With CS5's content aware setting, they should be easy to clean up --- still a pain though!

Godfrey

Thanks ---

It just started showing up in some photos, as I was shooting the sky.

With CS5's content aware setting, they should be easy to clean up --- still a pain though!
Typically, dust spots showing up in images means there's dust on the sensor assembly, not in the lens. Do a test:

- fit one lens, set to f/22, shoot blank sheet of paper
- fit another lens, set to f/22, shoot blank sheet of paper

If you compare the two exposures and see the same dust spots, clean the sensor.

edmund

Was just reading on another forum that this could be oil droplets from the shutter --- apparently this goes away after a few months of use...

mjm6

The oil won't go away. Once you clean it really well, eventually new oil won't be deposited. It may take a little while for this to happen, though.