The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

35mm summicron

A

a_summarita

A friend just offered me a canadian-made 35mm summicron version 4 pre-asph for $1800. Should I buy? decision, decision, decision..

I am tempted but wow, has the price for this lens risen so much over the last couple of years, especially the ver. 4!

LCT

Fair price for a mint or excellent copy but i would hesitate between it or a new Summarit 35/2.5 if you don't shoot much in low light.

LCT

The Summarit is said to have a very smooth bokeh as well. I have no experience with it though as i have a 35/2 IV already. I'm still tempted by the Summarit for its lesser flare and more 'modern' i.e. contrasty rendition.
Edit: I would add 6 bit coding to the 35/2 IV price and a hood to that of the Summarit for a fair comparison (if the Summicron is sold with its hood of course).

A

a_summarita

thanks for the quick intro. on summarit, LCT. Let me know when you acquire it (both of us know you will eventually ;-)) and do share some photos!

:)

mjm6

I had a v4 for a few years, and then did a comparison with a contemporary Summilux (German-made). I felt that the Lux had comparable bokeh at comparable apertures, and ultimately offered a stop more speed when needed, so I sold the v4.

I especially liked the summicron, and while I had it, it was my most used lens (focal length driven, mostly). I don't think I'd pay $1800 for one, I'm more inclined to find a user with good optics rather than a mint version. Of course, the prices have been rising on these lenses, so maybe that is reasonable these days.

---Michael

A

a_summarita