The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

back

mwalker

Subscriber Member
Just got back from Russia..tired, 34 hr travel time... Saturday got arrested with interpreter and three other russians for taking pictures and spent one day at the jail...Bryansk region going backwards.

View attachment 6241

Terry

Like Helen's comments, I look forward to viewing your work when you have been able to sleep.

Stuart Richardson

Nice shots Mike! Did you go anywhere other than Bryansk? I studied Russian history in graduate school -- I lived in Vladivostok for 10 months along with 4 months in Yaroslavl. Unfortunately I was not into photography at the time.

I am not surprised to hear you were detained though. Provincial Russia's first reaction to something strange is to imprison it. The only reason it did not happen to me was that my best friend there was the vice-consul in Vladivostok (he was 26, I was 23)...not many Americans there, so if you are American, you meet all of them. Whenever we got pulled over or questioned by the militsia, his diplomatic credentials got us out of it.

In any case, I am very interested to see your work!

mwalker

Subscriber Member
Stuart,

I was in the city of Klinsy two hours south of the city of Bryansk. You are right no Americans go there. They confiscated my camera and I was lead clasped under each arm to the police station. I was interviewed by plain clothes who made me show them my pictures. Then interviewed by uniformed militsia who gave me my camera and sd card back. They asked me why I was there in Klinsy I said because the people are warm and friendly. :)