The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fun w/Digital M Images

Status
Not open for further replies.

dude163

I actually did a paid photo shoot this last week for an auto repair shop, in the parking lot was one of the employees cars, THIS is his daily driver for the summer out here in E Canada!! 1969 Dart Stockcar he built himself, it sounds fantastic too

excuse the strange crops, I took out the minivans next to it :)

PS : The guys there thought i was a pro because I had TWO cameras with me , lol

SYGTAFOTO

Taking the morality out of the discussion as it is a personal choice,

At least in Canada, I'm under the information that as long as the photo (that contains people whether it is incidentally or posed) is not used for profit, one needs not a written consent to take the photo. It is fair game as long as it is taken on public property and do not hinder traffic of others.

There are some exception such as the right to privacy where the photo must not create moral prejudice or a fairly high degree of "discomfort and upset" and where a reasonable privacy is expected (eg. bathroom, court, etc).
As an example, you can also photograph someone else's house as it is seen from a public property, but if a family member is seen inside or outside the private property, this would invoke the right to privacy.

Personally, I think it is irrelevent to ask the purpose for taking a picture of a homeless on public property. It is exactly the same as taking pictures of someone reading a newspaper on a public bench. The picture itself does not create any prejudice or significantly demean the subject.