The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Help! I'm having Perar lens issues.

douglasf13

Hi. I have been battling with my little MS Optical Perar for the last 7 months, and I'd love to hear your insight on my situation, even if you don't own the lens.

Last February, after owning the lens for a month or two, I began noticing that my Perar's corner resolution was incredibly asymmetric. While I didn't expect the corners of this tiny lens to be world-beating, I am using it on an aps-c NEX camera, so I'd expect the corners to be reasonable. Regardless, it isn't the lack of corner resolution that I'm concerned about. It is the unevenness of the corner resolution. In using a liveview camera, I'm obviously able to accurately focus into each corner with high magnification, and I've been stunned at how much sharper one corner is compared to the others. It seems like this lens has heavy decentering. If I extend the collapsable lens barrel upside down, with the aperture markings facing downward, the sharp corner moves with it, and I've tried multiple adapters, so I've ruled out that it is an issue with my setup.