The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

R-d1 vs GXR vs NEX 5N

ark8012

I am trying to move from DSLR to RF system now. I got the Leica M film body and lenses, and looking for digital system that I can use my leica lenses.

No money for M8/M9... I am not a professional photographer.

Mostly, I will take pictures of my family including my 2 years old girl. and I also love to take a street photo and a landscape photo.

Which one should I pick??

Or should I wait until new fuji mirrorless comes out?

B

BCMielke

I looked at many options and had a similar decision. I can't speak to the Nex5N too much other than if you have an interest you will also have access to AF lenses. I went with the GXR with the M-mount. My main reason was I had a Nikon DSLR and I wanted to experience the lack of an AA filter. I already had an AF camera though.

Godfrey

An Epson R-D1 or R-D1s is a delightful 6Mpixel camera, however I am a bit wary of it since they only made a relatively small number. This makes repair information, parts and support a risk. Batteries are easily available still and there are a couple of places that advertise new ones (usually from Japan) on Ebay from time to time.

The biggest issue is that the R-D1 is often no less expensive than a used Leica M8 and the Leica you will certainly have service and support for some time to come. The Leica also has a higher resolution sensor and, while not perfect, if you want a rangefinder camera it's one of the three available.