The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

newbie lens advice

F

faz

Hi everyone

I need a little help as I'm struggling to decide on which lens to buy for my rangefinder, I recently purchased a zeiss zm and I'm looking for a great lens to go along with it. I kind of narrowed it down to the following

35 2.5 leica summarit
35 2 zeiss biogon
35 1.2 voigtlander nokton
50 1.5 zeiss sonnar
50 2 leica summicron
50 2 zeiss planar

I suppose these are quite a few len's to consider so I'm not making it very easy for my self but recently i decided against the 50mm 1.5 zeiss sonnar due to focus shift. I'm quite new to the whole rangefinder world so focus shift is something I'm not very comfortable with.

I suppose this is a shot in the dark to ask what you would recommend as again its a pretty long list but if i can get some input from people who may know quite a bit about rangefinders and len's i can cross some more from my list to begin to have a more refined idea about what i want.

any way i look forward to your input ... thanks in advance :D

Paratom

it depends ;) ;)
how important lens speed is for you vs portability.
I own a 50/1.4asph, 50/1.5 Sonnar and a 50 Summarit (which I recently got).
I find the Focus shift not as much an issue with the 50/1.5. The Zeiss is an interesting lens, slightly colder color, less perfect than some other lenses with a special character. Like a mixtire of a modern lens design and more classicel.
The 50/1.4asph is the most flexible lens, fast, very good optics.