The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Nikon user considering M-system.

M

Matt Cullen

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting here after browsing for the last two days, mostly in the this M forum. I'll give some background, I've pretty much always been an SLR shooter. I started using my dad's Pentax Spotmatic II, then when digital SLRs started becoming more affordable I switched to digital. I used to shoot with Canon but for the last couple of years I've been shooting with Nikon gear, mainly a D2X and F100, I recently sold my D200. I usually shoot events such as birthday parties, bar mitzvahs, receptions, as well as some sports and model work for pay. However on my one time I do mostly nature and street photography.

Now I love my Nikon system, and for wildlife and macro photography it's indispensable. On the other hand, there are plenty of times when I'm out shooting in the city and would love to have something lighter smaller, and more discreet but not at the expense of image quality. I've pretty much ruled out most point and shoot cameras due to the lack of low light performance both as a result of the small sensors and lens speeds, as well as the lack of RAW. I also prefer prime lenses to zooms, even with my SLRs, definitely a big fan of fast glass and selective focus.