The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Fun with the Leica M Monochrom

xdayv

Vivek, thanks for sharing those shots in India. Would you mind sharing your insights about shooting India with the Monochrom?

V

Vivek

Hi Dave, Appreciate your kind words very much! :)

I had shot in monochrome in the business district of Mumbai in 1980 when I was a student with a Yashica Electro 35 and respooled B&W film. I could compare (from a few existing prints) how the light got registered. Even near sunset, it is quite harsh.

This shot of a vendor (he had a kitchen scale and was offering that as a service to the passerby to measure their weight) would have been nearly impossible on a monochrome film. Getting so much details of his dark skin while still getting some structures on hazy clouds (top right) out of the MM shot justified (again) how great a sensor/camera this is.

Untitled by Vivek Iyer, on Flickr
Leica MM, Rokkor 40/2, Yellow filter.

Walking around Mumbai with the MM was very very safe. Everyone and anyone noticed the camera but most thought it was an old camera as it does not look like a DSLR. Only once it got identified (by a Britisher) as a Leica M9. Photographing anyone was easy and most were more than willing to be photographed. Super photo friendly surroundings. One does have to be careful to be with a camera near certain buildings. There are major security checkups while entering any mall for instance (not my place of interest, anyway).