The GetDPI Photography Forum

Great to see you here. Join our insightful photographic forum today and start tapping into a huge wealth of photographic knowledge. Completing our simple registration process will allow you to gain access to exclusive content, add your own topics and posts, share your work and connect with other members through your own private inbox! And don’t forget to say hi!

Why not all R lenses supported with new M?

algrove

I have no knowledge about R lenses except that I want some long ones to use with an M someday.

Any ideas why not all R lenses not supported by new M based on the official M brochure handed out at Photokina?

The longest on the list seems to be the APO Telyt-R 4/280.

Not supported:
250mm
400mm
500mm

jonoslack

They should all work (I'm pretty sure) it's a case of whether they're supported in the exif information in the firmware. It seems they've stuck to the more recent lenses.

As far as I know you can attach anything with a proper adaptor.

all the best

algrove

They should all work (I'm pretty sure) it's a case of whether they're supported in the exif information in the firmware. It seems they've stuck to the more recent lenses.

As far as I know you can attach anything with a proper adaptor.

all the best
I see it seems like many of the supported R lenses are of the APO variety, i.e., pricey lenses. Maybe they will/can expand the list from the current 20 to include most if not all of the R lenses. Here the 180/2.8 Elmarit-R is around $800, but I'm hearing the APO 180/2.8 is maybe $2kto3k. Yikes. I do wonder if the APO's are that much better.

Stuart Richardson

They are.